Girl Kicked off Plane for Coughing!

This article I read, Girl, 16, Kicked Off Plane For Coughing, told the story that a girl on her way to New York for a school trip was kicked off the plane for coughing a lot.  She was flying on Continental Airline, of whom her mother is currently arguing with for a full refund of her daughter’s ticket.

First off, when I read this article, I saw that it was as ridiculous as the title first made me believe.  How could someone possibly get kicked off a plane for doing nothing wrong?! Coughing?  To me, you have the same contol over coughing as you do breathing, sneezing, anything all of us do as human beings.  How could you ask someone not to have a coughing fit? It’s not like it was their fault, or even that they chose to be stuck with it in the first place.

I could understand the concerns as distracting to other people and the pilot, however, the plane is a public place which everyone knows there is a possibility of loud noises or annoying sounds.  As for the pilot, they are trained to deal with very complicated things and should therefore know how to concentrate with everyday noises coming from in back of them.  This is like telling people they can’t talk, breathe, listen to music etc… How could this have been allowed to happen?

April 1, 2007. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Maegan replied:

    I can’t believe that this really happened. I completely agree with you and the fact that there are somethings a person can’t control. It’s not like this person was running wild throughout the seats or anything, she was simply coughing – is that a real reason to be punished and kicked off? That seems so stupid. I can’t believe that an airline would actually kick her off for that, I mean what kind of PR are they attracting for themselves — we only allow perfect quiet passengers? I hope the mother does get a refund because this is absurd.

Leave a comment

Trackback URI